National Hispanic Heritage Month 2018: Sept. 15 to Oct. 15

Each year, Americans observe National Hispanic Heritage Month from September 15 to October 15, by celebrating the histories, cultures and contributions of American citizens whose ancestors came from Spain, Mexico, the Caribbean and Central and South America. The observation started in 1968 as Hispanic Heritage Week under President Lyndon Johnson and was expanded by President Ronald Reagan in 1988 to cover a 30-day period starting on September 15 and ending on October 15. It was enacted into law on August 17, 1988, on the approval of Public Law 100-402. The day of September 15 is significant because it is the anniversary of independence for Latin American countries Costa Rica, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras and Nicaragua. In addition, Mexico and Chile celebrate their independence days on September 16 and September18, respectively. Also, Columbus Day or Día de la Raza, which is October 12, falls within this 30 day period.
https://hispanicheritagemonth.gov/about/

Links to Selected Exhibits and Collections here~ https://www.hispanicheritagemonth.gov/exhibits-and-collections/

≈ ≈ ≈ ≈ ≈ ≈ ≈ ≈ ≈ ≈

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

For more information on the artists featured in the slide show:

Judith F. Baca~ http://www.artnews.com/2017/04/19/concrete-history-chicana-muralist-judith-f-baca-goes-from-the-great-wall-to-the-museum-wall/
Daniel Martin Diaz~ http://danielmartindiaz.com/about.php
Carmen Lomas Garza~ https://americanart.si.edu/artist/carmen-lomas-garza-6783
Ester Hernandez~ http://artinprint.org/article/ester-hernandez-sun-mad/
Yolanda Lopez~ https://www.library.ucsb.edu/special-collections/cema/lopez_y
Soraida Martinez~ https://theartguide.com/artists/soraida-martinez
Manuel Neri~ https://anderson.stanford.edu/programs-exhibitions/manuel-neri-assertion-of-the-figure/
Royal Chicano Air Force~ http://www.galeriadelaraza.org/eng/exhibits2/archive/artists.php?op=view&id=3&media=info
Richard Serra~ https://www.guggenheim.org/artwork/artist/richard-serra
Patssi Valdez~ https://americanart.si.edu/artist/patssi-valdez-7289
Emigdio Vasquez~ https://www.library.ucsb.edu/special-collections/cema/vasquez_brochure
Los Four~ https://latinomurals.wordpress.com/2014/05/27/losfour/

Self Portraits~August 26

Self-Portrait  by  Andy Warhol

1967 / Oil and silkscreen ink on canvas /45”x67 1/2” / San Francisco Museum of Modern Art

≈ ≈ ≈ ≈ ≈ ≈ ≈ ≈ ≈ ≈

Untitled #479 by Cindy Sherman

1975 / 23 hand-colored gelatin silver prints / 20 1/2”x33 1/2” / Collection of Dorothy & Peter Waldt

Self Portraits~August 21

Hand with Reflecting Sphere  by  M.C. Escher

1935 / Lithograph / Sheet 16 13/16”x12 1/2” / Gemeentemuseum Den Haag, Netherlands

≈ ≈ ≈ ≈ ≈ ≈ ≈ ≈ ≈ ≈

Self-Portrait: The Inn of the Dawn Horse  by  Leonora Carrington

c.1937–38 / Oil on canvas / 25 9/16”x32” / Pierre and Maria-Gaetana Matisse Collection, The Met

Pride Month~ June 26

Rotimi Fani-Kayode (1955-1989)  Nigerian-born British photographer
http://visualaids.org/artists/detail/rotimi-fani-kayode

Adebiyi / 1989 / Archival C-type print / 48”x48”

Keith Haring (1958-1990)  Bridged the gap between the art world and the street
http://www.haring.com/!/about-haring/bio#.WzKpdGRKilk

Poster for The Fun Gallery / 1983 / Offset lithography / 23”x29 1”/4

Pride Month~ June 25


Deborah Kass (Born 1952)

Multidisciplinary artist explores the intersection of pop culture & art history
http://maryryangallery.com/artists/deborah-kass/

Double Red Yentl, Split (My Elvis) / 1993 / Screenprint and acrylic on canvas / 72 1/4”x72”

Robert Gober (Born 1954)
American sculptor best known for his meticulously crafted works
https://www.guggenheim.org/artwork/artist/Robert-Gober

Untitled / 1999 / Plaster, beeswax, human hair, cotton, leather, aluminum, enamel paint / 33 1/2”x40”x24 3/4”